(Pack) Design Decoding

Product design is one of the most powerful instruments to bring brands to life for consumers. Based on visual, haptic and acoustic impressions, consumers make permanent decisions as to whether products address psychological motivations relevant to them (e.g. performance motives or a need for security). Implicitly, i.e. without cognitive effort, the brain generates meaning from which a person sees, feels and hears.


The conclusion: the aesthetics, symbolic and functionality of a product must match the consumer's usage and buying motives.


However, designers and product developers are faced with a difficult challenge. They have a completely different perspective on product design than consumers. While the latter are interested in subjective associations and perceived benefit dimensions, designers only have objective parameters such as shapes, colors, materials and finishes under their control. A reconciliation between the two perspectives is necessary.


The goal of design decoding is to uncover the secret relationships between controllable design parameters and the meaning that consumers derive from them or from their composition (Gestalt) as a whole.


To achieve this goal, we offer a rich toolbox.


  • In lean, qualitative decoding workshops researchers and consumers develop so called Design Code Frameworks which help our clients to convey messages like “Naturalness” or “Robust & Reliable” via all human senses. These workshops can e.g. be applied in agile innovation processes to derive clear recommendations for the next iteration of a prototype.
  • If detailed design optimization is in the focus, we recommend quantitative, statistical decoding approaches. Through linking subjective judgments of liking and triggered associations on the one hand with objective design descriptions coming from trained experts on the other hand, we establish Sensory Target Zones delivering clear recommendations for designers and engineers. How should the surface of a rotary control dial feel, what should the turning sound be like in order to convey “premium quality”?


Benefits for design development

Design Decoding helps designers to make design decisions more consciously and purposefully and to increase sensitivity to the consequences of individual decisions. The results provide design guidelines and reduce innovation processes according to the trial and error principle. Within these guidelines, the designer remains obligated to develop a coherent and aesthetic design so that he feels supported rather than patronized. Furthermore, this approach offers the possibility of design-related competitive benchmarking, which precisely identifies the best detailed characteristics on the market and makes them usable.


Integration into the company

Design Decoding creates a common instrument for explanation, communication and analysis in companies that enables designers, engineers, marketers, market researchers and management to discuss design decisions in a structured way. As a design code framework for a category, it can be used as a valuable method for developing new product designs. Tools such as the Sensory Target Zone support the optimization of existing products.

Interested?

Contact us

(Verpackungs-) Design Decoding

Produkt- und Verpackungsdesign ist eines der kraftvollsten Instrumente, um Marken für Konsumenten erlebbar zu machen. Basierend auf visuellen, haptischen und akustischen Eindrücken entscheiden Konsumenten permanent, ob Produkte für sie relevante psychologische Motive (z.B. Leistungs- oder Sicherheitsmotiv) ansprechen. Implizit, d.h. ohne kognitiven Aufwand, generiert das Gehirn Bedeutung aus dem, was Menschen sehen, fühlen und hören.

Die Schlussfolgerung: Ästhetik, Symbolik und Funktionalität eines Produkts müssen auf die Kauf- und Verwendungsmotive der Konsumenten abgestimmt werden.

Designer und Produktentwickler stehen hierbei jedoch vor einer schwierigen Herausforderung. Sie haben eine gänzlich andere Sichtweise auf Produktdesign als Konsumenten. Während letztere sich für subjektive Assoziationen und vermittelte Nutzendimensionen interessieren, haben Designer lediglich objektive Parameter wie Formen, Farben, Materialien und Finishes unter Kontrolle. Eine Übersetzung zwischen den beiden Perspektiven ist notwendig.

Das Ziel von Design Decoding ist das Aufdecken der geheimen Beziehungen zwischen kontrollierbaren Designparametern und der Bedeutung, die Konsumenten aus ihnen bzw. ihrer Gesamtkomposition (der Gestalt) ableiten.

Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, bieten wir Ihnen eine reichhaltige Toolbox.

  • In schlanken, qualitativen Decoding-Workshops erarbeiten unsere Forscher gemeinsam mit Konsumenten so genannte Design Code Frameworks, die unseren Kunden helfen, Botschaften wie „Natürlichkeit“ oder „Robust & Zuverlässig“ über alle Sinne hinweg zu kommunizieren. Solche Workshops lassen sich u.a. in agilen Innovationsprozessen einsetzen, um klare Empfehlungen für die nächste Iteration eines Prototyps zu erarbeiten.
  • Steht die Feinoptimierung von Designs im Fokus, empfehlen wir quantitative, statistisch fundierte Decoding-Verfahren. Durch Verknüpfung subjektiver Gefallensurteile und ausgelöster Assoziationen einerseits mit objektiven Designbeschreibungen von geschulten Experten andererseits lassen sich Sensory Target Zones ermitteln, aus denen klare Empfehlungen für Designer und Ingenieure abgeleitet werden können. Wie sollte sich die Oberfläche eines Drehreglers anfühlen, wie das Drehgeräusch klingen, um hohe Qualität zu vermitteln?

Vorteile für die Designentwicklung

Design Decoding hilft Designern, Gestaltungsentscheidungen bewusster und zielgerichteter zu treffen sowie die Sensibilität für die Konsequenzen von Einzelentscheidungen zu erhöhen. Die Ergebnisse liefern Design-Leitplanken und verringern Innovationsprozesse nach dem Trial&Error-Prinzip. Innerhalb dieser Leitplanken obliegt es nach wie vor dem Designer, einen stimmigen und ästhetischen Entwurf zu entwickeln, so dass er sich nicht bevormundet, sondern unterstützt fühlt. Ferner bietet dieser Ansatz die Möglichkeit eines designbezogenen Wettbewerbs-Benchmarkings, das die besten Detaileigenschaften auf dem Markt genau identifiziert und nutzbar macht.

Einbinden des Tools ins Unternehmen

Design Decoding schafft in Unternehmen ein gemeinsames Erklärungs-, Kommunikations- und Analyseinstrument, das Designer, Ingenieure, Marketers, Marktforscher und Unternehmensleitung in die Lage versetzt, gemeinsam strukturiert über Designentscheidungen zu diskutieren. Als Design Code Framework für eine Kategorie lässt es sich als nützliche Methode für die Entwicklung neuer Produktdesigns nutzen. Tools wie die Sensory Target Zone unterstützen die Optimierung bestehender Produkte.

Interessiert?

Kontaktieren Sie uns!