Sensory product testing in Virtual Enviroment (Virtual Reality)

Especially for context-sensitive products, it is justified to assume that the consumption context affects consumer’s acceptance and preferences. This has resulted in a long-standing debate between Marketing and R&D about the optimal conditions for sensory product tests which has lasted more than a decade:


  • Marketing demands testing in realistic consumptive situations with higher external validity and prefers approaches like home-use testing, bar tests etc.
  • R&D concentrates more on controlling the testing conditions (high internal validity) and thus argues for testing in sensory labs.

To resolve this debate, isi applies innovative VR technology. Respondents are placed into realistic consumption situations in which we maintain complete control over the testing conditions. Through extensive fundamental research and close cooperation with technology partners and universities we succeeded in establishing a high-quality VR-infrastructure for our consumer tests:


  • Respondents are immersed into the relevant situation using the most state-of-the-art VR-headsets
  • Own production of the VR content – adapted to the product category and research questions
  • Integration of our in-house online questionnaire software EQUIP into the VR headset: using a controller, the respondent is able to navigate intuitively and conveniently through the survey
  • Fieldwork is guided by use of an in-house developed, dedicated app

Your benefits: You receive more valid predictions of consumer preferences, the long-standing debate between Marketing and R&D about the optimal test approach is resolved and in some cases you may leapfrog a step in the innovation process while trimming costs and saving time at the same time.

Interested?

Contact us

Sensorische Produkttests in virtuellen Umgebungen (Virtual Reality)

Speziell bei kontextsensitiven Produkten besteht die berechtige Annahme, dass die Verwendungssituation die Konsumentenpräferenzen beeinflusst. Vor diesem Hintergrund währt seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt die Diskussion zwischen Marketing und R&D zu den optimalen Bedingungen für sensorische Produkttests:


  • Marketing fordert Tests in realistischen Konsumsituationen mit hoher externer Validität und präferiert Ansätze wie Home-Use Testing, Bar-Tests o.ä.
  • R&D fokussiert auf die Kontrolle der Testbedingungen (hohe interne Validität) und verteidigt damit Tests in Sensoriklaboren.

Um diesen Trade-off zu lösen, setzt isi innovative VR-Technologie ein. Befragte werden in realistische Konsumsituationen versetzt, und gleichzeitig behalten wir die vollständige Kontrolle über die Testbedingungen. Durch intensive Grundlagenforschung und Kooperationen mit Technikpartnern und Hochschulen ist es uns gelungen, eine hochwertige VR-Infrastruktur für unsere Konsumententests aufzubauen:


  • Bereitstellung neuester VR-Headsets, mit denen die Befragten in die entsprechende Situation versetzt werden können.
  • Eigene Produktion des VR-Contents – flexibel auf die Produktkategorie und Forschungsfragen abgestimmt
  • Einbindung unserer hauseigenen Online-Befragungssoftware EQUIP in das VR-Headset: Der Befragte navigiert mittels Controller intuitiv und bequem Navigation durch den Fragebogen
  • Steuerung der Feldarbeit in einer selbst entwickelten App

Ihr Vorteil: Sie erhalten validere Prognosen der Konsumentenpräferenzen, lösen den alten Konflikt zwischen Marketing und R&D um den optimalen Testansatz und können fallweise sogar einen Testschritt in Ihrem Innovationsprozess sparen – mit positiven Auswirkungen auf Timing und Budget.

Interessiert?

Kontaktieren Sie uns!