Plant-Based Products

New Food tRend 

Internal study on meat replacements on the example of vegetarian nuggets

More and more meat substitute products are entering the market. We were curious to see how well these products from established brands would perform in comparison to each other. To do this, we conducted a Central Location Test with 5 different vegetarian/vegan nuggets and 80 test subjects. Our goal was to find out preference (overall, taste, appearance, consistency), non-meat recognition among children, and final preference. The results of this internal study were very surprising to us because there were huge differences in performance. We found that certain brands stood out and were liked by most people, while some, unfortunately, could do better to be liked by the public.

taste and consistency drive the success of meat free / vegetarian nuggets

Finding 1

Taste & consistency - drivers of success for alternative meat replacements

First of all our study showed, that for most people taste and consistency are the most important drivers of liking while appearance is less important. This finding is very important when setting a focus of further product developments. 

There are huge differences between different brands of meat substitutes

Finding 2 

Huge differences between the tested brands for plant-based products

Another result of our study is that not all brands are performing equally good. Even though we tested leading brand available at the common stores all over Germany, some products performed very badly and should consider further improvements in order to be able to keep up with the competitive firms. Also, the saying "Nobody is Perfect" can also be applied in the context of meat replacement products, because even the best brands did not get a perfect rating and can still be further improved in the future.

If you want to know if your brand was part of the study and how well it performed, feel free to get in touch with us and we are happy to give you more details about or findings. 

Kids are unlikely to discover a difference between vegetarian nuggets and meat nuggets

Finding 3

Good vegetarian products will unlikely be uncovered by children 

We asked all test subjects who are either parents oder grandparents for their assessment if their children or grandchildren would realize the fact that the nuggets are not made from meat but are a vegetarian/vegan alternative. Surprisingly, 83% claimed that their children or grandchildren would not notice a difference. 

contact us for detailed and additional information!

More Information

Get full access to our study on alternative meat replacements

If you want to get deeper insights into our study and want to see which brands succeeded and which were not liked by our test subjects - just get in touch with us, book a meeting with our experts and get full access and all the details of this survey! Our experts are looking forward to discuss our findings with you. 

Contact us 
We are happy to support you in developing innovative products!

isi services 

Implement your own innovative products 

You are also currently developing new and innovative products but you need professional help? We can offer you divers options that you can choose from to benefit from our expertise and implement successful products. 

Our expert

Grahl

Dr. Stephanie Grahl

Project Manager

stephanie.grahl@isi-goettingen.de
+49 40 3038 6533

Click here to book a meeting
Book a meeting

Plant Based Products: our tips and insights

On our blog you will find in-depth articles about this topic

How to develop sustainable products

How do you introduce unusual and sustainable algae products to men and women? The team surrounding Stephanie Grahl from isi sensory marketing knows the answer: By including future customers right from...

Algae pasta: isi tests tomorrow's food

isi, the Institute for Sensory Research and Innovation Consulting, is testing sustainable products for the Georg-August-Universität Göttingen that are based on algae instead of meat. The transnational...

Fleischersatzprodukte

NEUer tRend 

Interne Studie zu Fleischersatzprodukten 

Es gibt immer mehr Fleischersatzprodukte auf dem Markt. Wir waren neugierig, wie gut diese Produkte von etablierten Marken im Vergleich zueinander abschneiden und haben deshalb einen Central Location Test mit 5 verschiedenen vegetarischen/ veganen Nuggets und 80 Testpersonen durchgeführt. Unser Ziel war es, die Präferenz (insgesamt, Geschmack, Aussehen, Konsistenz), die Wiedererkennung von Nicht-Fleisch bei Kindern und die endgültige Präferenz zu ermitteln. Die Ergebnisse dieser internen Studie waren für uns sehr überraschend, da es enorme Unterschiede in der Leistung gab: Wir stellten fest, dass bestimmte Marken herausstachen und von den meisten Menschen gemocht wurden, während einige andere schlechter abschnitten und Potenzial zur Optimierung zeigten.

DA5525AE-2729-4ED1-9FCC-2BF20BB87A4F

Erkenntnis 1

Geschmack und Konsistenz - Treiber des Erfolgs 

Ein erstes Ergebnis der Studie war, dass für die meisten Menschen Geschmack und Konsistenz die wichtigsten Eigenschaften von fleischfreien Nuggets sind, während das Aussehen weniger wichtig ist. Diese Erkenntnis ist vor allem aus der Perspektive der Produktentwicklung sehr wichtig, wenn es darum geht, einen Fokus für die folgende Entwicklung zu setzen. 

29EA81F3-17BB-49C6-9489-CBF4A6AD63F0

Erkenntnis 2 

Große Unterscheide zwischen den getesteten Marken 

Ein weiteres Ergebnis unserer Studie ist - wie bereits erwähnt - dass nicht alle Marken gleich gut abschneiden. Obwohl wir führende Marken getestet haben, die in den gängigen Geschäften in ganz Deutschland erhältlich sind, haben einige Produkte sehr schlecht abgeschnitten und sollten weitere Verbesserungen in Betracht ziehen, um mit den Wettbewerbsfirmen mithalten zu können. Das Sprichwort "Nobody is Perfect" lässt sich auch im Zusammenhang mit Fleischersatzprodukten anwenden, denn auch die besten Marken erhielten keine perfekte Bewertung und können in Zukunft noch weiter verbessert werden.

Wenn Sie wissen möchten, ob Ihre Marke Teil der Studie war und wie gut sie abgeschnitten hat, können Sie sich gerne mit uns in Verbindung setzen und wir geben Ihnen gerne weitere Details zu den Ergebnissen. 

01D64C13-3BEC-47A0-B55B-DAF38DF5CFFB

Erkenntnis 3

Gute Produkte werde von Kindern nicht als Fleischersatzprodukte erkannt

Wir haben alle Testpersonen, die entweder Eltern oder Großeltern sind, nach ihrer Einschätzung gefragt, ob ihre Kinder/Enkelkinder erkennen würden, dass die Nuggets nicht aus Fleisch bestehen, sondern eine vegetarische/vegane Alternative sind. Überraschenderweise gaben 83% an, dass ihre Kinder/Enkelkinder keinen Unterschied bemerken würden. 

596D7300-757E-4086-800E-A26F0CC66C86

MEhr Informationen

Erhalten Sie alle Erkenntnisse unserer Studie 

Wenn Sie tiefere Einblicke in unsere Studie erhalten möchten und sehen wollen, welche Marken bei unseren Testpersonen erfolgreich waren und welche nicht - dann nehmen Sie einfach Kontakt mit uns auf, buchen Sie ein Treffen mit unseren Experten und erhalten Sie vollen Zugang und alle Details dieser Studie! Unsere Experten freuen sich darauf, unsere Ergebnisse mit Ihnen zu teilen. 

Kontaktieren Sie uns
D137F933-9FF3-4624-8C3B-F2B2CC318537

isi services 

Entwickeln Sie Ihre eigenen innovativen Produkte 

Sie entwickeln auch gerade neue und innovative Produkte, benötigen aber professionelle Hilfe? Wir bieten Ihnen verschiedene Möglichkeiten, von unserer Expertise zu profitieren und erfolgreiche Produkte zu realisieren. 

Unsere Expertin 

Viktoria Heinrich

Viktoria heinrich 

Project Manager

viktoria.heinrich@isi-goettingen.de
+49 551 499 74 274

Vereinbaren Sie ein Meeting
Book a meeting

alternative Fleischersatzprodukte: Unsere Tipps & Insights

Auf unserem Blog finden Sie weitergehende Artikel zu dem Thema

Wie man nachhaltige Produkte entwickelt

Wie bringt man ungewöhnliche und nachhaltige Algenprodukte an den Mann und an die Frau? Das Team um Stephanie Grahl von isi sensory marketing research kennt die Antwort: Indem man die zukünftigen Kund...

Algenpasta: isi testet das Essen von morgen

isi, das Institut für Sensorikforschung und Innovationsberatung testet für die Georg-August-Universität Göttingen nachhaltige Produkte, die auf Algen statt Fleisch setzen. Die länderübergreifende Stud...